National Ringette League announces annual award nominees

LEDUC, ALBERTA – March 29, 2017 – The National Ringette League (NRL) today announced the nominees for its annual awards program. The awards program recognizes the performance of NRL athletes during regular season play with trophies for Rookie of the Year, Most Valuable Player, Top Forward, Top Centre, Top Defense, and Top Goalkeeper. These awards, along with awards for Coaching Staff of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, NRL Top Scorer and NRL Scoring Champion will be announced during the NRL Championship tournament awards ceremony being held on April 1, 2017 in Leduc, Alberta. The NRL Championship tournament is part of the 2017 Freson Bros. Canadian Ringette Championships.

Nominees for the NRL awards include the following:

Rookie of the Year (the most outstanding player in her first year of NRL competition)
Halli Berry – Richmond Hill Lightning
Laurie St-Pierre – Rive-Sud Revolution
Sarah MacDonald – BC Thunder
Marie-Pier Blanchard – Montreal Mission

Most Valuable Player (the player judged to be the most valuable to her team)
Jenny Snowdon – Atlantic Attack
Shaundra Bruvall – Calgary RATH
Dailyn Bell – Edmonton WAM!
Kelsey Youldon – Waterloo Wildfire

Top Centre (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the centre position)
Dailyn Bell – Edmonton WAM!
Jenny Snowdon – Atlantic Attack
Julie Blanchette – Montreal Mission
Shaundra Bruvall – Calgary RATH

Top Forward (the most outstanding player that played predominantly forward position)
Chantal St-Laurent – Gatineau Fusion
Martine Cassie – Atlantic Attack
Dani Holliday – Edmonton WAM!
Molly Lewis – Ottawa Ice

Top Defense (the most outstanding player that played predominantly the defense position)
Lindsey Brown – Edmonton WAM!
Jenna McBride – Ottawa Ice
Erica Voss – Richmond Hill Lightning
Christianne Varty – Waterloo Wildfire

Top Goalkeeper (the most outstanding goalkeeper)
Bobbi Mattson – Calgary RATH
Jasmine Leblanc – Gloucester Devils
Halli Berry – Richmond Hill Lightning
Amy Clarkson – Manitoba Intact

Coaching Staff of the Year (the most outstanding coaching staff group of the year, this award is voted on by the teams)
Ottawa Ice
Richmond Hill Lightning
Calgary RATH
Edmonton WAM!

About the National Ringette League
The National Ringette League (NRL) is the showcase league for ringette in Canada and strives to be the premiere women’s sports league in the country. The league has 16 teams participating in two conferences – a Western Conference with five teams and an Eastern Conference with 11 teams. The objectives of the NRL are to move ringette into the mainstream of Canadian sports activity, encourage greater public awareness of ringette, create more and better competitive opportunities for athletes, and achieve positive financial results at both a league and team level. For more information on the NRL, including schedules, team rosters and athlete profiles, please visit our website at


For more information, please contact:
Alayne Martell
Media and PR - Ringette Canada/National Ringette League
Office: 613-748-5655, ext. 226
Cell: 902-308-1067